Assault Charges

A person is guilty of Simple Assault if he: Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury. Continue Reading...

Harassment Charges

The New Jersey Harassment Law is set forth at N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4. This statute provides that a person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense “harassment” if he: Makes or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively course language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm; Subjects another to Continue Reading...

Prescription Drug Offenses

Possession & Distribution – N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5 Possession or distribution of four or fewer doses is a Fourth Degree Crime; Possession or distribution of five but less than one hundred doses is a Third Degree Crime which carries a fine of up to $200,000; Possession or distribution of one hundred or more doses is a Second Degree Crime that carries a fine of up to $300,000. Continue Reading...

Robbery Charges

The Robbery Law is contained at N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1. It defines robbery as a theft, during the commission of which, a person: (1) either inflicts bodily injury or uses force; or (2) threatens to cause immediate bodily injury or a first or second degree crime. For purposes of 2C:15-1, “commission” includes attempt to commit a theft or flight therefrom. Grading. Where an individual uses a weapon Continue Reading...

Shoplifting Offenses

The New Jersey Shoplifting Law is contained at N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11. The grade of criminal offense that a shoplifting charge will trigger is contingent upon the value of the merchandise allegedly stolen. In this regard, the statute provides as follows: It is a Disorderly Persons Offense where the value of the merchandise is $200 or less; It is a Fourth Degree Crime where the value of the Continue Reading...